testtuta.blogg.se

Move visual studio to another drive
Move visual studio to another drive




move visual studio to another drive

And finally we can remove folder that will not be used in future.Select Pin to Start from the menu that comes up. Only then we will be able to reduce potential differences between folders. We should remember to do that action as soon as possible after Windows start. Then you need to start Windows and delete link to this folder and create new one to target device. Of course you can obey such situation – you need to create additional copy of folder to drive with letter that you can create link. And during attempt of link creation I got error with information that such drive does not exist. Unfortunate this drive was not available in command line. In my case I wanted to have ProgramData folder on Z: drive. It is also connected to drive letter change. Because of this you should always create links that will point folder on drive letter that will be used in OS and not in command line.Īlso additional problem can occur. And sometimes disk in command line can have different letter than after starting OS. But sometimes you can spot some problems.įirst of all you should remember that link you have created is somehow like a shortcut. In theory everything should work great after those steps. Mklink /J "C:\ProgramData" "D:\ProgramData" You will do that by following commands: mklink /J "C:\Users" "D:\Users" Robocopy "C:\ProgramData" "D:\ProgramData" /MIR /COPYALL /XJĪfter doing that you can remove those folders from OS drive: rmdir "C:\Users" /S /QĪnd finally you need to create links to new folders. When you will do that you can copy those folders by executing following commands: robocopy "C:\Users" "D:\Users" /MIR /COPYALL /XJ Next thing that you should do is trying to find disk with OS and target drive where you would like to move those files. To do that you need to do following steps:įrom this moment you should have access to local drives from command line.

move visual studio to another drive

First of all you need to start command line from Windows installation CD. After few tries I can say that this operation is not so difficult but you need to remember about few things. Because of that new idea came to my mind – move those folders to another drive. Of course I tried to remove some files from those folders but I didn’t manage to gain needed space. I discovered also that Chrome takes about 1,5 GB for cache and other data. But I managed to identify a problem – two folders: Users and ProgramData have about 22 GB. I tried to clean a disk but without any success. In that time on my SDD drive there was only 2 GB free space. Last week new Visual Studio and new Windows 10 were presented. That was a plan that worked for longer time.īut…. All data and documents should be hold on other drives. Of course I was thinking about bigger drive but main purpose of this upgrade was to speed us OS and application start and run. At that time I thought that 120 GB will be enough for me. Sometime ago I decided to buy and install SSD drive in my PC.






Move visual studio to another drive